Mommysavers › Forums › General Discussion › Family Matters › School Age Kids › At what age did you let your kids ride in the front seat of a car?
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:

At what age did you let your kids ride in the front seat of a car? - Page 2

post #11 of 26
My oldest has occasionally, but only in the vehicle with the automatic airbag shut off.
post #12 of 26
TN state law says no child under age THIRTEEN can ride in the front seat of a vehicle...no exceptions. TN laws for carseats says rear facing until 20 pounds AND 1 year of age, front forward carseat until 40 pounds AND four years, and booster seat until 80 pounds AND nine years!!!! We were shocked when we moved here from Alabama and went from laws being so relaxed to laws so strict! However, since then, we have bought THREE of the Sunshine Radian carseats that go to 80 pounds each with 5 point harness buckles. Because it is the "norm", none of my children even know to complain or ask not to be in one. And, I feel SO much better about having them in there!
post #13 of 26
My car has the passenger air bag...

I had always heard '12 to ride w/them

But when my kids turned 12 wasn't good enough for me,, I went with they had to wait until they weighed 100 lbs

(since some adults can weigh 100 lbs,, figured that was a 'safer mark',,,
post #14 of 26
Thread Starter 
Quote:
Originally Posted by blessed_with_6 View Post

TN state law says no child under age THIRTEEN can ride in the front seat of a vehicle...no exceptions. TN laws for carseats says rear facing until 20 pounds AND 1 year of age, front forward carseat until 40 pounds AND four years, and booster seat until 80 pounds AND nine years!!!! We were shocked when we moved here from Alabama and went from laws being so relaxed to laws so strict! However, since then, we have bought THREE of the Sunshine Radian carseats that go to 80 pounds each with 5 point harness buckles. Because it is the "norm", none of my children even know to complain or ask not to be in one. And, I feel SO much better about having them in there!

Gosh, I didn't realize the carseat rules just 30 minutes north of me were so strict! I guess I won't be able to go into TN with my dd anymore since her booster seat is long gone!
post #15 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by blessed_with_6 View Post

TN state law says no child under age THIRTEEN can ride in the front seat of a vehicle...no exceptions. TN laws for carseats says rear facing until 20 pounds AND 1 year of age, front forward carseat until 40 pounds AND four years, and booster seat until 80 pounds AND nine years!!!! We were shocked when we moved here from Alabama and went from laws being so relaxed to laws so strict! However, since then, we have bought THREE of the Sunshine Radian carseats that go to 80 pounds each with 5 point harness buckles. Because it is the "norm", none of my children even know to complain or ask not to be in one. And, I feel SO much better about having them in there!

This is the one I'm going to go with!!
post #16 of 26
Wow, NC seems a bit too lenient IMO, compared to the rest....I told DD she has to be 12 to ride in the front but the law only recommends it

(this is from buckleupnc.org)




When can my child ride in the front seat?
It is legal in NC for a child to ride in the front seat:

If the child is age 5 or older, OR
If the child weighs at least 40 pounds, OR
If the vehicle does not have an active passenger side air bag, OR
If the vehicle does not have a rear seat where the child restraint can be installed. Note however, that children in rear facing child safety seats should NEVER ride in the front seat of a vehicle with an active passenger side air bag. The child will be seriously injured or killed if there is a crash and the air bag deploys.
However, it is STRONGLY RECOMMENDED that:

All children age 12 and under should ride buckled up in a rear seat.
Infants in rear facing child safety seats should NEVER ride in the front seat of a vehicle with an active passenger side air bag.
Small children should ride in a rear seat in full harness type child safety seats appropriate for their age and size.
Larger children should ride in a rear seat in a belt positioning booster until large enough for the lap and shoulder belt to fit correctly.
If a child over one year old MUST ride in the front seat with a passenger side air bag, put the child in a front facing full harness child restraint, a belt-positioning booster seat, or a correctly fitting lap and shoulder belt -- AND move the seat as far back as possible.
If a child age 12 or younger MUST ride in the front seat with a passenger side air bag, have an air bag on/off switch installed and turn the air bag off when the child in in the front seat.
post #17 of 26
WI has the same laws as NC (stated above). I actually went to the police station a couple of weeks ago because now that I watch 3 boys during the day I needed to know the rules. I have an 8 yr old, two 4 yr olds, two 3 yr olds and one 2 yr old during the day. So that is 6 kids. If I ever needed to go anywhere one of them would have to sit in the front as I only have a 7 passenger van. So the officer adviced that I can let my 8 year old in the front. I questioned him because I wanted to make sure that if I was ever pulled over I wouldn't get yelled at for having her up there. He stated I wouldn't.
Now if it is only my 3 girls she sits in the back.
post #18 of 26
I have an older van, so I usually had my girls sit in the back. They are really tall though. They are 12 and 13 now, and if they were short, I would still make them sit in the back. Those airbags are unsafe for some short adults.
I am so thrilled that Michigan just changed its carseat law to 8 years, or some weight. I have a friend who has had her children out of carseats for awhile now, and the youngest is 5. Now she has to be in a seat again.
post #19 of 26
i don't allow any of my children to sit in the front seat iowa law is as follows.

Iowa law requires that babies under one year of age and weighing less than 20 pounds be secured in a rear-facing car seat. The law further requires that children under age 6 be secured in an appropriate car seat or booster seat, not a seat belt alone. Iowa law also requires that children over age 6 but under age 11 be secured in a booster seat or seat belt not in the front seat. 11+ years can sit in front seat.
post #20 of 26
Ds is 12 and he rides in the front seat once in a blue. Little ds is 10 and he doesn't ride up front too often.
New Posts  All Forums:Forum Nav:
  Return Home
  Back to Forum: School Age Kids
Mommysavers › Forums › General Discussion › Family Matters › School Age Kids › At what age did you let your kids ride in the front seat of a car?